Archive for the ebm Category

Mankinds Audio Development- Sunfeast 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1984, ebm, john fryer, look back in anger, play dead, post-punk, synth, synthpop on December 4, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Been meaning to post this one for some time- a recent purchase that’s lived in my DJ bag for some time now. Two track 12” from 1984, featuring members of Play Dead and Look Back in Anger. Also produced by John Fryer, notorious for his pioneering work with 4AD and various other post-punk bands. This is their only release, though more tracks were meant to be recorded.

The sound here sounds like a mixture of soulful vocals (a la Colourbox), post-punk bass grooves, all under the guise of a primitive EBM track. Lots to love here. Here’s the breakdown:

Mankinds Audio Development- Sunfeast 12”
1. Sunfeast
2. Craving

*download it here*

Parade Ground- Strange World 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1987, 2000s, colin newman, ebm, front 242, parade ground, reunited, synthpop on July 24, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s a 12” by one of my favorite artists. Walking a fine line between glossy synthpop and early EBM (this 12” is on Play it Again Sam), Parade Ground issued six killer singles and one full length record, all pretty much essential for fans of the genre. The main lineup consists of brothers Jean-Marc and Pierre Pauly, who originally collaborated with Front 242. The brothers occasionally lent a hand to some of Front 242’s middle period recordings, maintaining a close personal relationship with Daniel B. The band has also collaborated with Colin Newman of Wire, who produced several of the band’s releases.

While the band split soon after releasing their full length in 1988, Parade Ground would issue two CDs in 2007. One consists of live tracks, while the other features brand new material.

Released in 1987, this 12” contains two high energy tracks, while the final track is a more atmospheric affair. Here’s the info.

Parade Ground- Strange World 12”
1. Strange World
2. Off Balance
3. The Chosen One

*download it here*

Though this one comes a close second, my favorite Parade Ground 12” can be found over at Crispy Nuggets. “Gold Rush” is a beast.

Advanced Art- Scar 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1990s, 1991, advanced art, ebm, finnish, new beat, synthpop on July 12, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s a slice of classic EBM for all you heavy-beat nuts. Advanced Art were based in Finland, formed in 1985, and split in the mid-90s, when the early EBM sound shifted focus to heavy metal guitars. The majority of their releases (four singles and two full lengths) explore the classic electro-based sound, so fans of Front 242, A Split-Second, and Nitzer Ebb should definitely enjoy this one. This particular 12” dates back to 1991, and follows two early 7” releases. Here’s the breakdown:

Advanced Art- Scar 12”
1. From Nothing to Nothing
2. Wake Up
3. Tear Open These Scars
4. From Nothing to Nothing (Edit)

*download it here*

Teenage Brain Surgeon- Fatal Day 7”

Posted in 1980s, 1988, ebm, german, minimal synth, Teenage Brain Surgeon on October 13, 2009 by Frankie Teardrop

I don’t tend to buy into the whole “holy grail” aspect of the minimal synth genre, but I’m tempted to make an exception for today’s post. In short, I was first clued in to Teenage Brain Surgeon‘sexistence by fantastic fashion guru and DJ Jeralyn, who runs I’ll Wear Any Color as Long as It’s Black. We were only able to track down 2/3rds of their sparse discography, but I was fortunate enough to stumble upon the final, elusive track in my late-night travels. Huzzah!

There’s virtually no information available about this German band, as this is their lone release. The limited edition 7” (1,000 copies are said to be in existence) was self-released in 1988. Extremely rare, but extremely solid, all three of these tracks are ripe for the dance floor, chock full of infectious electronics and a stomping beat- very EBM friendly if that’s you’re thing. The title track is especially choice, and never fails me in a DJ set.

If anyone out there has any information whatsoever regarding this band, feel free to chime in! Otherwise, let’s get to the good stuff, shall we?

Teenage Brain Surgeon- Fatal Day 7”
1. Fatal Day
2. Years Gone By
3. Cold

*download it here*

Next up, we have a rare compilation of Zwischenfall as well as another generous donation from Jeff! Stay tuned for more over the next few days.

Velodrome- Au Velodrome 141 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1988, ebm, german, industrial, minimal synth, velodrome on April 8, 2009 by Frankie Teardrop

Pardon the double post, ladies and gents, but here’s a rather solid 12” by German EBM act Velodrome. Though this is their only release, each member of the duo had been previously active in other similar bands. Previous to Velodrome, Jorge Guber played in both Lineas Aereas and Metropakt while vocalist Krishna Goineau was a member of the famous Liaisons Dangereuses, who resumed activity soon after this 12” release.

Without any further ado, here’s the information for their lone 12”, released in 1988.

Velodrome- Au Velodrome 141 12”
1. Au Velodrome 141
2. Glasfabrik
3. Capataz

*download it here*

Borghesia- Ljubav Je Hladnija Od Smrti LP

Posted in 1980s, 1985, 1990s, borghesia, ebm, minimal, slovenia on April 16, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Borghesia were a Slovenic electronic/wave band, formed from an existing theatre group in 1982. Both their performances and music touched on repressed themes and taboo subjects, combining this content with a dark synthetic backdrop. They were lumped in with the budding EBM (electronic body music) movement, yet their first record has more in common with the minimal wave sound.

Over the course of thirteen years, Borghesia developed a substantial cult following in Europe, appearing on festival bills and obtaining distribution through Wax Trax records. The original five piece outfit would shift lineups before splitting in 1995, with around/over a dozen releases under their belt. Uploaded here today, is the debut record, 1985’s Ljubav Je Hladnija Od Smrti

Borghesia- Ljubav Je Hladnija Od Smrti LP
1. Ljubav Je Hladnija Od Smrti
2. A.R.
3. Kdo Je Ugasnil Luc
4. Brisk Vomit
5. Jaz (Pesem B)
6. On
7. Nocne Setnje
8. Previse Tenzije
9. Tako Mladi
10. Ljubav Je Hladnija Od Smrti II

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED* –¬†you can now get a remastered copy of this LP via the always excellent DARK ENTRIES label, an awesome reissue label based out of the west coast. Click here for more info!

For your viewing pleasure, the promotional video for ‘A.R.’:

For more info on Borghesia, click the following two links: