Archive for the Störung Category

Störung- The Art of Combining Cassette

Posted in 1980s, 1983, minimal, minimal synth, netherlands, Störung on June 23, 2009 by Frankie Teardrop

Astute fans of minimal wave should already be familiar with Störung, a duo from the Netherlands who released one classic full length record in 1982 (get it here on Mutant Sounds). Their sound combines some of the most striking minimal electronics with dirty guitars, bass, and alternating male and female vocals.

The band formed in 1981, and during their lifespan released both the This is Future LP and the respective Dreadful Dance 7”. Though a recent archival release by Minimal Wave Records (currently available for a meager $8.50!) appeared two years ago, the band had only these releases under their belt, but still had several unrecorded tracks in their repertoire. An unofficial cassette was released by their label, Combinator, in 1983. The bootleg featured several Störung staples alongside a series of unreleased tracks, recorded during one of the band’s live sets. These are the only known versions of some of these tracks, and though the quality is a bit warm due to the nature of the release, it still holds up as an additional piece of the Störung puzzle.

Without any further ado, here’s the information for the release:

Störung- The Art of Combining Cassette
1. Empire SX
2. Nooduitgang 2
3. Modern Fetch
4. Drums Keep Thundering
5. Europe Calls
6. Radio Lines
7. Onweer
8. This Is Future
9. Siberia
10. Don’t Want To Know
11. Warschau Pact

*download it here*

Note: Also posted on the No Longer Forgotten Music blog. Check out his impressive backlogs!

As a further supplement, here’s a video for a live performance of “Warschau Pact,” recorded in 1983.