Zwischenfall- Gestern Und Heute CD

As promised, here’s a CD compilation of German new wave/minimal band Zwischenfall, who wrote some of the most underrated tracks of the ’80s. Several of the cuts on this collection are dance floor destroyers, especially “Sandy Eyes” (more of an italo cut), “Sacred Time,” “Atemlos,” and two versions of “Flucht.”

From what I gather, the Gestern Und Heute CD collects the band’s entire discography, including a rather ’90s sounding remix of “Flucht.” The collection was released in 1995, and fetches a rather high price, even for a CD. I can’t seem to find anything concrete on the band aside from the band members involved (Martin Urban, Michael Sass, & Stephan Kraemer), but Google tells me that a prominent European club takes their name from the band.

Perhaps their legacy (like most of the bands featured here) is stronger overseas. On that note, let’s get to the music.

Zwischenfall- Gestern Und Heute CD
1. Atemlos
2. Heimatlose
3. Millionen
4. Flucht ’82 (German Version)
5. Sandy Eyes
6. Flucht ’84 (English Version)
7. Polar Magazine
8. Sacred Time
9. Katastrophe
10. Tausend Jahre
11. Atemlos (Remix ’93)
12. Flucht (Remix ’94)

*download it here*


ATTENTION, dear readers- you can now get a remastered copy of Zwischenfall’s debut 12” via the always excellent DARK ENTRIES label, an awesome reissue label based out of the west coast. Click here for more info!

11 Responses to “Zwischenfall- Gestern Und Heute CD”

  1. Anonymous Says:


    As you can see at discogs, the heute 12" is produced and recored partial from Daniel B at Front Studio = Daniel Bressanutti Front 242

  2. The Skinflutes Says:

    Hi. Congratulation for this fantastic blog.

    Why don't you take a look at mine?

    If you like it feel free to list in your blog.


  3. INTERESTING MUSIC ¡¡-greetings from southamerica–i have -a question for you–the name of this-2 bands and songs–year–1983?–style-dark-after-tecno?—————–here are- PALACIO 1.mp3———————

  4. If you closely listen to the track "Millionen", you will find an odd similarity of the sequencer riff to the riff from "Wahre Arbeit, wahrer Lohn" by "Die Krupps" …

  5. man, thx

  6. You are a freaking god… I've been trying to find that 84 mix of Flucht for YEARS. Thank you!!

  7. ps. the first 12" plus 2 bonus tracks will be re-issues on vinyl by Dark Entries this spring!

  8. Tracks 1-4 and 9-10 have been remastered and pressed to vinyl!! get your copies here:

  9. the saucer people Says:

    Many many thanks for posting the Zwischenfall compilation, when I have mentioned them to other people I have just got a blank look (but that may be down to my terrible German pronounciation as much as the obscurity of the band!).

    The only two tracks I have got by them are

    "Sandy Eyes (Special Fuzz Version) [1984]" and "Flucht (Special Fuzz Dance Version) [1984]"

    They did like their "special fuzz dance versions" didn't they! To be honest thats all I thought they did so its been a real education hearing all the other tracks…actually it is more baffling than ever having now heard so many amazing tracks by them that they are not more well known…maybe its the fact that they do not easily slot into either the 'Italo-disco' or the more synthpop/darkwave/industrial category, sometimes its a curse when you explore the spaces between genres, people do like their binary oppositions 😉

    Shame they have had to wait 20 odd years for an audience to emerge, great news about the re-releases.

  10. TravisBickle Says:

    Don't know if it's still a matter of interest but an interview with Stephan Kraemer of Zwischenfall can be found here:

    (The page's server doesn't seem to be the quickest, so be patient…)

  11. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll
    just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for novice blog writers?

    I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *