Cassell Webb- Llano LP/CD

I’ve had this LP for YEARS- picked it up on a whim when I was carpet bombing Academy Records’ old Williamsburg location every other week. I recall liking it ok, but it took until yet another vinyl purge to rediscover it and finally appreciate it. Better late than never, I suppose!

Anecdotes aside, this is the first LP from Cassell Webb, released in 1986 on both New Rose and Statik Records, respectively. The sounds here are definitely moody and ethereal, quite delicate in some spots, but also not without its post-punk charms. Upon re-listening, I found touches of Fleetwood Mac and Area to be found throughout. Most notably for some readers, this record was a collaboration with Adrian Borland of The Sound, complete with guitar work, backing vocals, and even a cover of “Total Recall” from Heads and Hearts. Pretty cool!

Unlike most of the records featured here, this album was released on CD in 1988, which is the version I’ve uploaded here. That said, I much prefer the spacious LP cover… Either way you slice it, hope you folks enjoy!

Cassell Webb- Llano LP/CD
1. Llano
2. Voices to Rivers
3. In Arcadia
4. Every Time I Get Around You
5. Total Recall
6. Gypsy Solitaire
7. Wandering Ones
8. When the Rain Stops Falling

*download it here*

5 Responses to “Cassell Webb- Llano LP/CD”

  1. VanceMan Says:

    New to me but interesting … thanks for sharing.

  2. Cesidio89 Says:

    I’m loving it, thank you 🙂

  3. This is very beautiful and haunting – I particularly like “Voices to Rivers”.
    Thank you.
    Nick B

  4. always surprising us, thanks man for being there.

  5. is she the same cassell webb from the texan band the children?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *