Aerial FX- Watching the Dance LP

Another request from down under, ladies and gentlemen…This time for UK post-punk/synth act Aerial FX, and their lone full-length, 1982’s Watching the Dance.

There’s little proper information to be found about Aerial FX, who has only three other 7” releases; 1980’s So Hard 1981’s Take It From Here, and 1982’s Instant Feelings. Seems that they split soon after releasing this full-length. The only solid information I can dig up mentions their involvement with Radiohead, arguably the biggest band in the world these days. Members Chris Hufford and Bryce Edge caught wind of the band through various demo tapes, liked what they heard, and got in touch. They still manage Radiohead to this day…

That said, it’s a shame their own outfit didn’t turn more heads during their tenure…Without any further ado, here’s the details for Watching the Dance:

Aerial FX- Watching the Dance LP
1. Out Of The Window
2. Who Is Down There
3. Hold Me
4. 5.15
5. Instant Feeling
6. Servitors
7. Accident
8. Where Is Tomorrow

*download link removed* – Reissue now available at Radiation Records silver and black.

10 Responses to “Aerial FX- Watching the Dance LP”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    this is quite interesting! thank you!

  2. Hi, Thanks! I have treasured my Aerial FX singles version for 25 years – but I never knew anything about them. It’s great to finally hear the album.
    All the best,

  3. elektro80s Says:

    Great album, thanks so much for this!
    Theres a lot of 80s music in your blog and I have one question to you…
    Can you help me to recognize some of this lost 80s tunes?
    (all these songs are from 1985-1988 extracted from old dj tapes, the sound quality of some songs is poor, sorry for this):

    01 – MISSING1
    03 – TUNE3
    04 – TUNE4
    05 – TUNE5
    06 – TUNE6
    07 – TUNE7
    08 – TUNE8
    09 – TUNE9
    10 – TUNE10
    11 – TUNE11
    12 – TUNE12
    13 – TUNE13
    14 – TUNE14


  4. Anonymous Says:


    Instant Feelings was a 7″ only and this band also had “So Hard” 7″ from 1980 (actually their first work…).

    great blog!

  5. indeed. a good blog.

  6. Honey's Dead Says:

    I’m drunkenly dancing to Instant Feeling right now. This is good stuff.
    Anyway, it’s been too long since I’ve browsed your blog, so downloading some goodies and saying thanks.

  7. Wow, thank you very much for this proper rip from vynil. I already had a take of this great record but with a lot of hiss and crackle, especially in the last great track, where is tomorrow. so great to be able to listen to this in such a fine quality 🙂

  8. panole8riambos Says:

    I have this album since I don’t remember when… Never found any informations about the Aerial FX. Thanks so much. Cheers

  9. frankie teardrop Says:

    elektro80s, i’ll check out yr tracks first chance i get. will let you know if i’m able to spot some of them!

  10. elektro80s Says:

    Thank you for your help Frankie!!
    These songs are very difficut to id, nobody knows nothing about them…
    I’m useful to say you that I like much this blog, good work.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *