Fallout Club- Wonderlust 12”

This particular minimal synth/new wave 12”, released in 1981, is a DJ staple of mine. Fallout Club were a short lived British band, who released just three 12” singles before splitting up.

After parting ways, most of the band went on to achieve success with other projects. Bassist Matthew Seligman joined the Thompson Twins, drummer Paul Simon paired up with former Sex Pistols bassist Glen Matlock, while keyboardist Thomas Dolby, who I presume needs no introduction, went on to have a commercially successful solo career. Unfortunately, vocalist Trevor Helion passed away in 1988, five years after the release of his solo record. However, the legacy of this 12” lives on. Aside from serving as a springboard for future pop acts, the a-side was featured on both the New Wave Complex and Tribute to Some Bizzare series, which collect dozens of obscure singles.

Fallout Club- Wonderlust 12”
1. Wonderlust
2. Desert Song

*download it here*

I haven’t heard the remaining Fallout Club releases, but I hope to track them down soon. If anyone has them kicking around, feel free to chime in!

8 Responses to “Fallout Club- Wonderlust 12””

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Brilliant! Thank you. Been looking for this for YEARS!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    hi … i have the Dream Soldiers 7". contact me if you want a rip of it for your blog. i'm "solvent" on the MW forums

  3. Did you take him up on that offer for the rip of the 7"? I'd love to hear it. These two songs are great.

  4. I've been trying to get hold of this for many years. Thank you ever so much!!!

  5. I'm hoping you can track down the other two singles by Fallout Club as I'm liking this 7"!


  6. Greg in Florida Says:

    This is one of my favorites from the era. The legendary CFNY FM in Toronto played this in regular rotation, and I was lucky enough to pick my copy up somewhere, possibly while record hunting in Canada. Interestingly, the labels on my 12-inch were put on backwards, with A on B and B on A.

  7. Splash154 Says:

    Hi great blog

    I have "The Beat Boys" and "Pedestrian Walkway" on mp3 if you are interested. Get in touch at splash @ talktalk.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *