Archive for the Glenn Matlock Category

Asmodi Bizarr- Sunsierra LP+12”

Posted in 1980s, 1986, asmodi bizarr, cathedral of tears, german, Glenn Matlock, goth-rock, post-punk on May 15, 2014 by Frankie Teardrop


A few notes of housekeeping before today’s post— I’ve re-ripped and reuploaded a few things, mainly upgrading bitrates of Epitaphe, De Press, Boytronic, and Bushido from a while back.  I’ve also re-ripped a few more things that I’m slowly working through, so there should be a few more of these upgrades to come, as well as a lot of new, unheard stuff that I can’t wait to share with you…

Here we have Asmodi Bizarr’s classic Sunsierra LP, a landmark in female fronted post-punk in the veins of Xmal Deutschland, Stimmen Der Stille, Cry of the Innocent, etc.   The band hailed from Düsseldorf, Germany and released three albums and one demo 7” (would love to hear this!) before calling it a day in the early 90s.   Members of the band also recorded a 7” compilation track under the name Aspirin.  Fortunately, the band can be found on Facebook, and has since reunited to play shows in 2011 and 2014, respectively.  They’re playing this year’s Wave-Gotik-Treffen festival, so I hope those headed out that way can check them out and report back!

This is their first LP, released in 1986 as an LP+12” package, featuring two of the band’s best songs as the bonus LP cuts.  Some of you may have seen this posted elsewhere, but this particular copy is freshly ripped and cleaned up for maximum listening enjoyment.  To those who haven’t heard it yet, it’s one of my all time favorites.  Either way, hope you enjoy it!

Asmodi Bizarr- Sunsierra LP+12”
1. Spin the Wheel
2. Liebeslied
3. The Bride
4. Hush…Hush, Sweet Charlotte
5. Memories
6. The Dreamvision Song

7. Traumland
8. Grüne Augen
9. Dorian

*download it here*

Fallout Club- Wonderlust 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1981, Fallout Club, Glenn Matlock, minimal synth, new wave, synthpop, Thomas Dolby, Thompson Twins on May 8, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

This particular minimal synth/new wave 12”, released in 1981, is a DJ staple of mine. Fallout Club were a short lived British band, who released just three 12” singles before splitting up.

After parting ways, most of the band went on to achieve success with other projects. Bassist Matthew Seligman joined the Thompson Twins, drummer Paul Simon paired up with former Sex Pistols bassist Glen Matlock, while keyboardist Thomas Dolby, who I presume needs no introduction, went on to have a commercially successful solo career. Unfortunately, vocalist Trevor Helion passed away in 1988, five years after the release of his solo record. However, the legacy of this 12” lives on. Aside from serving as a springboard for future pop acts, the a-side was featured on both the New Wave Complex and Tribute to Some Bizzare series, which collect dozens of obscure singles.

Fallout Club- Wonderlust 12”
1. Wonderlust
2. Desert Song

*download it here*

I haven’t heard the remaining Fallout Club releases, but I hope to track them down soon. If anyone has them kicking around, feel free to chime in!