Archive for September, 2008

Experimental Products- Prototype LP

Posted in 1980s, 1982, experimental products, minimal, minimal synth, philadelphia, reissued, synth, US on September 29, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Experimental Products were a two-man minimal synth project who formed in Delaware in 1982, but operated heavily out of Philadelphia, PA. By the time the group disbanded in 1987, they had expanded to four members and had released one full length LP and a handful of 12” records of pioneering electro-wave greatness. Mark Wilde and Michael Gross remained the core members of the band until their demise.

Uploaded below is their lone LP, 1982’s Prototype, originally released on Short Circuit Records.

Experimental Products- Prototype LP
1. Modern Living
2. Sweet Rejection
3. New Project
4. Feeling Left Out
5. Nightmares I
6. The Addict
7. Anesthetic
8. Streetwalk
9. Clear Image
10. Nightmares II

*download it here*

Vinyl on Demand has remastered and reissued this classic record just this year, an expanded edition with an extra vinyl disc of live/unreleased material! Check it out and make sure you pick up a copy and trash these mp3s if you dig it! Also, click below for a myspace page for Experimental Products:

Vinyl on Demand
Experimental Products on myspace

Venus In Furs- Platonic Love & Other Stories LP

Posted in 1980s, 1984, 1990s, electronic, post-punk, times, uk, venus in furs on September 15, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Not much more info I can give today, but as promised, here’s the first official LP by UK electronic/post-punk band Venus In Furs (released in 1984). Managed to acquire the rest of the band’s discography, but am missing *one* track from Soft Life. Speak up if you’ve got it. Otherwise, on to the music:

Venus in Furs- Platonic Love & Other Stories
1. Fallen Statues
2. That First Wild Kiss
3. Majordomo
4. Entracte/Zurich 1924
5. His Master’s Voice
6. Platonic Love
7. Waltz Of The Venus De Milo
8. Achilles Brain
9. Snowscape
10. The Challenge

*download it here*

Venus In Furs- Strip MLP

Posted in 1980s, 1985, 1990s, electronic, post-punk, times, uk, venus in furs on September 12, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Fulfilling another request from down under. No, this isn’t the Velvet Underground song, the Sacher-Masoch novel, nor is it the fictional glam band from Velvet Goldmine (a lot of posh material discussed in this sentence), but instead this Venus In Furs was a cult favorite post-punk/electronic act from the UK that existed from 1983-the early 1990s.

The band formed in Sussex in the early 1980s, pairing down from a four piece to a duo before cutting any proper material. Over the course of six years, the band released six albums, one mini LP, and a series of 12” and 7” singles, all of which are extremely sought after. Little else is known about the band, or there current whereabouts, but one of the members was also doing double duty in a band called Times during this period.

Though this is their second release, I’ve uploaded 1985’s Strip mini-LP to kick things off. I’ve got most of their earlier catalog, aside from singles, Megalomania (1989), and their final recordings, so if anyone’s interested, I can upload the remaining three records I have over the course of next week. Otherwise, here’s the information for Strip:

Venus In Furs- Strip Mini-LP
1. All Night Party
2. Sultan
3. In My Velvet Cage
4. Rayogram IV
5. Concerning Status
6. The Debutante
7. O Sweetheart Libido
8. Rayogram VI

*download it here*

It seems as if the entire Venus In Furs catalog has been re-released on compact disc via Movement Recordings in the UK. The reissues come complete with full album artwork and a few of the 12” singles tacked on for good measure. Otherwise, I do believe these are CD-R burned copies otherwise, recorded onto burned discs from the original master tapes. If I come across a wad of cash, I’ll be picking up the entire lot, if they’re still available. I recommend you kids do the same! Click the link below to be taken to the order page:

Movement Recordings Order Form

Vicious Pink- Vicious Pink LP

Posted in 1980s, new wave, soft cell, synth, synthpop, vicious pink on September 9, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

As promised, here’s the second post for today, a stark contrast to the heavier sounds posted below. I’m not sure if someone requested this one per se, but it came up in a recent discussion, so it’s fair game one way or the other. The band: Vicious Pink, a synthpop duo formed in 1981 in the UK. Though the band was active for five years, their lone full-length is a self titled release, culled from the band’s numerous singles.

Originally, the duo of vocalist Josephine Warden and keyboardist Brian Moss began as backing vocalists for Soft Cell’s early years, and were known as the Vicious Pink Phenomenon, who released one killer single titled My Private Tokyo. The duo began targeting dance clubs with their highly infectious blend of synth-pop, and though their singles didn’t earn a massive amount of chart success, they were in heavy rotation in most of Europe’s dance clubs, and were highly influential in a budding electronic scene.

The band split in 1986, collecting nine tracks from their various singles for release as the band’s first and only record. A few demo records are rumored to exist but remain unreleased, and since the band’s split, their various singles and extended remixes have been collected in both an anthology and a single disc hits package.

Here’s the information for the 1986 s/t record:

Vicious Pink- Vicious Pink LP
1. Cccan’t You See
2. Spooky
3. The Spaceship Is Over There
4. Blue (Love Mix)
5. Fetish
6. Take Me Now
7. Always Hoping
8. 8:15 To Nowhere / Great Balls Of Fire
9. Cccan’t You See (Exxx-tended Re-Mixxx)

*download it here*

Mass- Labour of Love CD

Posted in 1980s, 1981, 4ad, mass, post-punk, rema-rema, uk, wolfgang press on September 9, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Sorry for yet another delay, folks. Things will be sporadic for a little while longer, but I have two uploads today. The first continues the 4AD tradition, featuring Mass’ lone LP, 1981’s Labour of Love.

Mass formed in 1980, in the wake of like-minded outfit Rema-Rema’s demise. 3/4 of the experimental/post-punk outfit continued on as Mass, along with Danny Briottet. One single appeared before the record, which is attached to the end of the CD release uploaded below.

Mass’ sound continued the thick and abrasive path Rema-Rema laid out before…These tracks are moody, dark, and heavy. This trend would continue upon Mass’ quick demise, as after Labour of Love‘s release, members Mick Allen, and Mark Cox formed the Wolfgang Press, who were active throughout the rest of the 1980s and early 1990s. Meanwhile, remaining Mass members Gary Asquith and Danny Briottet went on to form Renegade Soundwave.

Without any further adieu, here’s the information for Labour of Love, complete with the CD release artwork + bonus 7” tracks:

Mass- Labour of Love CD
1. Mass
2. Why
3. Ill
4. Why
5. Isn’t Life Nice
6. Elephant Talk
7. F.A.H.T.C.F.
8. Cross Purposes
9. Innocence
10. You And I
11. Cabbage

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED* – Mass discography reissued in 2011 by Desire.

Though the CD copy of this record has been out of print for years…4AD’s webpage does offer a digital copy of the record here, if you’re in the UK or are keen on the current exchange rate. Be sure to nab it if you love it!