Archive for the times Category

Venus In Furs- Platonic Love & Other Stories LP

Posted in 1980s, 1984, 1990s, electronic, post-punk, times, uk, venus in furs on September 15, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Not much more info I can give today, but as promised, here’s the first official LP by UK electronic/post-punk band Venus In Furs (released in 1984). Managed to acquire the rest of the band’s discography, but am missing *one* track from Soft Life. Speak up if you’ve got it. Otherwise, on to the music:

Venus in Furs- Platonic Love & Other Stories
1. Fallen Statues
2. That First Wild Kiss
3. Majordomo
4. Entracte/Zurich 1924
5. His Master’s Voice
6. Platonic Love
7. Waltz Of The Venus De Milo
8. Achilles Brain
9. Snowscape
10. The Challenge

*download it here*

Venus In Furs- Strip MLP

Posted in 1980s, 1985, 1990s, electronic, post-punk, times, uk, venus in furs on September 12, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Fulfilling another request from down under. No, this isn’t the Velvet Underground song, the Sacher-Masoch novel, nor is it the fictional glam band from Velvet Goldmine (a lot of posh material discussed in this sentence), but instead this Venus In Furs was a cult favorite post-punk/electronic act from the UK that existed from 1983-the early 1990s.

The band formed in Sussex in the early 1980s, pairing down from a four piece to a duo before cutting any proper material. Over the course of six years, the band released six albums, one mini LP, and a series of 12” and 7” singles, all of which are extremely sought after. Little else is known about the band, or there current whereabouts, but one of the members was also doing double duty in a band called Times during this period.

Though this is their second release, I’ve uploaded 1985’s Strip mini-LP to kick things off. I’ve got most of their earlier catalog, aside from singles, Megalomania (1989), and their final recordings, so if anyone’s interested, I can upload the remaining three records I have over the course of next week. Otherwise, here’s the information for Strip:

Venus In Furs- Strip Mini-LP
1. All Night Party
2. Sultan
3. In My Velvet Cage
4. Rayogram IV
5. Concerning Status
6. The Debutante
7. O Sweetheart Libido
8. Rayogram VI

*download it here*

It seems as if the entire Venus In Furs catalog has been re-released on compact disc via Movement Recordings in the UK. The reissues come complete with full album artwork and a few of the 12” singles tacked on for good measure. Otherwise, I do believe these are CD-R burned copies otherwise, recorded onto burned discs from the original master tapes. If I come across a wad of cash, I’ll be picking up the entire lot, if they’re still available. I recommend you kids do the same! Click the link below to be taken to the order page:

Movement Recordings Order Form