Archive for November, 2008

Modern Eon- Peel Sessions and Live CD-r

Posted in 1980s, 1981, modern eon, post-punk, uk on November 25, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

The following record was graciously ripped and uploaded by Jeff of Uberbelly. It’s not quite an official release, but instead collects several live Modern Eon tracks alongside their lone Peel Session in 1981.

Again, I’ve already touched on Modern Eon previously, and again, this particular entry is dead in the water from that horrid Zshare crash, but Jeff was also kind enough to send along the CD reissue of Fiction Tales. I will most likely update the old post with a new link, but for now, grab it here, if you’re keen! Otherwise, here’s the info for the Peel Sessions and Live disc:

Modern Eon- Peel Sessions and Live CDr
1. Benched Down / 70’s Sixties
2. High Noon
3. Mechanic
4. The Grass Will Grow
5. Real Hymn
6. Choreography
7. Playwrite
8. Child’s Play
9. High Noon
10. Real Hymn
11. After The Party
12. Second Still
13. Watching The Dancers
14. Waiting For The Cavalry
15. Mechanic
16. Choreography
17. Euthenics
18. Real Hymn

Track 1 taken from the compilation Street To Street-A Liverpool Album.
Tracks 2-5 from Peel Sessions (21/01/1981).
Tracks 6-11 from a live concert in Groningen (23/08/1981).
Tracks 12-18 from a live concert in Liverpool (21/02/1981).

*download it here*

note: naturally, some of these tunes are of comprable quality, as they are sourced from concert tapes and radio sessions.

Many, many thanks again to Jeff! Otherwise, catch you kids after the holiday. I’m aiming to finish up all those looming reuploads and to move forward with more steam!

Sleep Chamber- Babylon 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1986, 1990s, boston, experimental, industrial, musique concrete on November 25, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Fulfilling a quick request for another classic Sleep Chamber release. I have a donation post to follow tomorrow, but first, a quick blurb about this particular record:

I’ve already covered Sleep Chamber in a previous entry (though the link is still dead for this one- I still beg your patience, ladies and gentlemen), so peek over there for a few tidbits of info on the collective. Otherwise, I’ve uploaded Sleep Chamber’s 1986 Babylon 12” single for your listening pleasure. This particular release features vocals by both John Zewizz and one Mariea Foster. Otherwise, here’s the roll:

Sleep Chamber- Babylon 12”
1. Her Second Skin
2. Babes Ov Babylon
3. Dreams While Drowning
4. Babylon Babes

*download it here*

Neutral Project- Comme Un Oiseau De Proie K7

Posted in 1980s, 1989, 1990s, coldwave, france, little nemo, neutral project on November 19, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Sorry about the lack of reuploads folks, haven’t had much time to attend to the back logs of the blog. Anyone looking for January-June/July, hang tight just a little longer.

In the meanwhile, I’ve uploaded a treat today, a coldwave record for the first actual cold wave in New York. Formed in France in the mid 1980s, Neutral Project released a handful of cassette and CD releases until the mid nineties. The band began as a two piece, and expanded to a three-piece outfit in 1991. Also around this time, members of Neutral Project banded together with members of the like-minded Endraum to form A Foamy Project In Neutral Days, who released a handful of songs in 1991.

Otherwise, Neutral Project released their final effort in 1994. Vocalist Yvon Million passed away in 2001. Soon after, members Kristian Dernoncourt and Dominique Oudiou formed No Tears, who are active to this day.

Below lies a link for Neutral Project’s first first cassette release, Comme Un Oiseau De Proie…, which was produced in part by Olivier Champeau of Little Nemo. Here’s the relevant info:

Neutral Project- Comme Un Oiseau De Proie… K7
1. Soleil De Nuit (2ème Eclipse)
2. J’Appelle…
3. A Vision In Your Eyes
4. Enigmatic Dream
5. La Mer Des Sarcasmes
6. Reviens!
7. Future
8. Nuit D’Automne
9. Révolte De L’Amour
10. Et Le Rêve Devint Légende

*download it here*

Winter Hours- Wait Till the Morning CD

Posted in 1980s, 1986, new jersey, paisley underground, post-punk, US, winter hours on November 10, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Spent last night uploading several back entries, mostly the Baroque Bordello material and all entries back to June. Will be working more on the rest as soon as possible. Please be patient!

Moving forward, here’s a bit of a seasonal treat for you kids today, one of my very favorite autumnal records by New Jersey based post-punk/paisely underground act Winter Hours. A little deviation from the usual doom & gloom/electronic aesthetic, Winter Hours’ sound was far more delicate, melodic, and guitar-based, drawing more comparisons to R.E.M., who supported the band in their earlier days. Other sonic textures include bands like The Lucy Show, Mighty Lemon Drops, The Church, and of course The Byrds and similar 60s folk bands who inspired the C86 movement.

Otherwise, the five piece act earned a devout cult following throughout their tenure, releasing a handful of LPs and EPs over the course of the 1980s. The band split officially in 1991, though their last single was released in 1989. As for the record at hand, Wait Till the Morning was originally an EP for the band in 1986, but this CD reissue includes the equally excellent Churches 12” as an appendix.

Winter Hours- Wait Till the Morning Comes CD
1. Hyacinth Girl
2. Wait Till the Morning
3. Simple John
4. Island of Jewels
5. Incendiary
6. Churches
7. Walk Away
8. At A Turtle’s Pace
9. I Want
10. All Along the Watchtower (Bob Dylan cover)

*download it here*

Click below for the official video for ‘Wait Till the Morning!’

Guitarist Michael Carlucci has written a letter in tandem with the passing of singer Joseph Marques Rodriguez, which appears on a brief Winter Hours tribute page (linked below). He also has created a semi-official myspace page to celebrate the band’s legacy. Please direct your attention below:

Winter Hours tribute
Winter Hours on Myspace