Archive for the paisley underground Category

Sixtieth Parallel- Into Bliss 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1988, alternative, paisley underground, post-punk, sixtieth parallel on July 8, 2013 by Frankie Teardrop

Sixtieth Parallel were an undersung US three piece from California, playing in the vein of early U2, The Chameleons, Mighty Lemon Drops, Sad Lovers and Giants, Blue Hollow, etc. (aka, some of my very favorite things).  Tight rhythm section, guitars reminiscent of the alternative explosion of the mid-80s, and really catchy songwriting at every turn.  This is their only documented release, dropped in 1988 on Dr. Dream records.

This 12” was highly recommended by my friend Teresa and I’ve been enjoying it for a few months now.  It can be found easily and for relatively cheap prices if you’re into it, and rumor has it the band has reunited to record new versions of old demos, so keep an eye out for those!

Sixtieth Parallel- Into Bliss 12”
1. Over And Over
2. Passionately Deep
3. Like Dust
4. Trust
5. One Day
6. Into Bliss

*download it here*

We Are Going To Eat You- Everywhen LP

Posted in 1980s, 1989, indie, paisley underground, post-punk, uk, we are going to eat you on August 3, 2011 by Frankie Teardrop

This one may border conspicuously on 80s indie turf, but it’s been hitting the spot lately as the summer creeps on and my interests turn to more guitar driven tunes.

In all honesty, I’ve had this 1989 LP kicking around for a while now, purchased sealed for a dollar at an upstate NY record fair (other scores included Trisomie 21’s Playing the Pictures and the Winter Hours record I posted ages ago). It took a post over at Kentucky Fried Wave to remind me that I had it lying around, unopened and deserving of a rip.

You can read quite a bit about these guys via Kill Your Pet Puppy, where you can also find their first two 12” EPs and a slew of photos. Pretty much all you could ever want to know about them appears in their writeup, so check it out!

As far as touchstones are concerned, this album does fit in quite nicely with the likes of the 80s paisley underground. Fans of Rain Parade, Winter Hours, early R.E.M., and Game Theory should be familiar with the sounds, which with a female singer in tow, also remind me of Ghost Dance and latter-day Xmal Deutschland. For me, the LP starts pleasantly enough but ends on the stronger side, with tracks such as “If You Believe” and “Her Dreamworld” standing out and giving it a bit of that dark flavor I like so much. Don’t take my word for it, however. Here’s the info:

We Are Going to Eat You- Everywhen LP
1. Photograph
2. Heart In Hand
3. This Conspiracy
4. Each Life A Mystery
5. Glory
6. Ride Upon The Tide
7. Eye To Eye
8. On A Day Like This
9. Just Another One
10. Here Always
11. If You Believe
12. Her Dreamworld

*download it here*

This LP was released on TVT records, which had a series of successful LPs (The KLF, Nine Inch Nails) under their belt. With that in mind, this band earned a bit of commercial attention, and filmed a video for “Each Life a Mystery.” Peep it here:

Blue Siege- Ruins No Longer Remain 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1986, blue siege, paisley underground, post-punk on November 22, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s a virtually unknown 12” from UK post-punk band Blue Siege. Definitely a must for fans of Sad Lovers and Giants, For Against, The Chameleons, etc., and also for those who like something a little more jangly (Winter Hours, early R.E.M.). Melodic singing, driving post-punk tracks, and a nice, punchy atmosphere. Prominent use of organ on here, if that’s your thing!

Can’t find a ton of information about this one, though I do believe it’s from 1986. The band released a 7” just before via Pride Communications, the same label who issued this recording. The 7” features production from Chris Layhe of the Icicle Works, another touchstone for the band’s sound. As for obtaining a copy of this one, there’s a few kicking around on ebay and various online record outlets, so snap one up!

Blue Siege- Ruins No Longer Remain 12”
1. Ruins No Longer Remain
2. Stolen Daylight
3. Like Red Rags To the Bull (Soweto)
4. Hollow Man
5. River Has Gone
6. Drifting Apart

*download it here*

Winter Hours- Wait Till the Morning CD

Posted in 1980s, 1986, new jersey, paisley underground, post-punk, US, winter hours on November 10, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Spent last night uploading several back entries, mostly the Baroque Bordello material and all entries back to June. Will be working more on the rest as soon as possible. Please be patient!

Moving forward, here’s a bit of a seasonal treat for you kids today, one of my very favorite autumnal records by New Jersey based post-punk/paisely underground act Winter Hours. A little deviation from the usual doom & gloom/electronic aesthetic, Winter Hours’ sound was far more delicate, melodic, and guitar-based, drawing more comparisons to R.E.M., who supported the band in their earlier days. Other sonic textures include bands like The Lucy Show, Mighty Lemon Drops, The Church, and of course The Byrds and similar 60s folk bands who inspired the C86 movement.

Otherwise, the five piece act earned a devout cult following throughout their tenure, releasing a handful of LPs and EPs over the course of the 1980s. The band split officially in 1991, though their last single was released in 1989. As for the record at hand, Wait Till the Morning was originally an EP for the band in 1986, but this CD reissue includes the equally excellent Churches 12” as an appendix.

Winter Hours- Wait Till the Morning Comes CD
1. Hyacinth Girl
2. Wait Till the Morning
3. Simple John
4. Island of Jewels
5. Incendiary
6. Churches
7. Walk Away
8. At A Turtle’s Pace
9. I Want
10. All Along the Watchtower (Bob Dylan cover)

*download it here*

Click below for the official video for ‘Wait Till the Morning!’

Guitarist Michael Carlucci has written a letter in tandem with the passing of singer Joseph Marques Rodriguez, which appears on a brief Winter Hours tribute page (linked below). He also has created a semi-official myspace page to celebrate the band’s legacy. Please direct your attention below:

Winter Hours tribute
Winter Hours on Myspace