Moulin Rouge- Essentials K7

Any self-respecting minimal synth fan should be more than familiar with the Orgelvärk compilation by now. Originally released on cassette in 1986 and reissued on wax in 2011 by Minimal Wave, this compilation boasts some killer cuts by underground Swedish artists. One of the highlights is the lo-fi dirge stomp of Moulin Rouge’s “Silence” – a track that has been near and dear to my heart ever since hearing it. That said, any additional material by the band was hard to come by.

With that in mind, I’d like to thank Thomas for the rip of this cassette, which collects nine tracks from Moulin Rouge (aka Anders Wikholm, aka Moulin Noir), including the version of “Silence” we all know and love. Curiously enough, the rest of the material is a bit more romantic, less gloomy, but still quite excellent. Reminds me a bit of a DIY version of Midge Ure-era Ultravox, but your comparisons may vary.

It’s hard to pinpoint the exact release date, as there is no date listed on the cassette artwork, but I’d wager it was 1986 or nearby considering both the sound and proximity to Orgelvärk’s release. Interestingly enough, Moulin Rouge also has a self-released cassette which has a little overlap, but a few additional tracks as well. If anyone happens to have a copy of that one, please chime in! Otherwise, here are the details and download link. Enjoy!

Moulin Rouge- Essentials K7
1. Welcome Home
2. Pamela
3. Sense
4. Silence
5. It Makes No Difference
6. Living In Cities
7. The Battle Of The Green Hills
8. Never Say Hello
9. The Golden Apples Of The Sun

*download it here*

8 Responses to “Moulin Rouge- Essentials K7”

  1. Thank you for your amazing blog.
    Just a request : could you update your rollblog list ? many have not been active for several years…

  2. This has been on my wishlist for years, glad to finally be able to hear the whole tape! Thank you for still delivering underground 80s synth goodness and happy holidays!

  3. Hey,

    funny we in Slovenia had also a synthpop band with the same name in 80’s. Samples:
    and one of their hits:

    Have fun. 🙂

  4. thanks for all the music, have a great new year,cheers from argentina as usual

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for your posts, great music!

  6. Anonymous Says:


  7. Nice to finally hear this one! The person behind this is often seen in the Stockholm club scene these days. He often appears in full drag. We used to call him “Scary Gary”…

  8. Andy Davis Says:

    This artist rebranded himself as Moulin Noir in the late 1990’s and had some releases on the now defunct American Synthpop label “A Different Drum”. Some were released on his own label, Burning Car, if memory serves. He released a brilliant track called “Maria Calling” though the lyrical content is a bit scary (child abuse). Overall, his look is very goth but his heart is completely synth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *