Starter- Start CD-R

The following upload comes as a request, and features Swiss minimal synth band Starter’s entire discography. Starter formed in 1981 as a three piece, led by Francis Foss, who remained the only original member after a personnel switch in 1985.

Starter would release one LP in 1981, followed by several 12” releases throughout the late eighties, calling it quits in 1989. Francis Foss was also active in Shy Rose, a Swiss Italo Disco act who released a handful of singles.

In 2004, Topfuel Entertainment collected Starter’s discography and released it as an extremely limited CD-R pressing, sold alongside a DVD of various live performances over the years. Only sixty copies of this fine release exist, and I’ve had my eyes peeled for ages. Snap one up if you see it! Otherwise, here’s the information for the CD-R portion.

Starter- Start CD-R
1. Lunapark
2. Is This Love
3. Minijupe
4. Baby
5. Plastic
6. Tanger
7. Tarzan And Jane
8. Machinedrum
9. Part Of You
10. Victim
11. My Love
12. Night By Night
13. Cause I Love You
14. Victim Of The Beat

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED* – ATTENTION, dear readers- you can now get a remastered copy of this LP via the always excellent DARK ENTRIES label, an awesome reissue label based out of the west coast. Click here for more info!

Though I have yet to find an original copy of this release, a generous party has uploaded a video from the DVD-R portion, so please click below to view live performances of both Lunapark and Minijupe from 1982:


20 Responses to “Starter- Start CD-R”

  1. I have really liked this band since I first heard them last year. Out of curiosity though, do you know what the lyrics to ‘part of you’ is? I really enjoy the song, but the lyrics the way I hear them is really strange. I don’t want to say what I think he is talking about, because Iam probably wrong. Just curious…
    Thanks for the great post:)

  2. hi! i’m having problems with the zip file… it looks like it’s empty. is it just me?
    thanx for the wonderful blog!

  3. louissyfer Says:


    nice blog

    i linked you, if you’d like link back

    take care

  4. I am also having troubles with the file. Says it’s corrupt or damaged.

  5. frankie teardrop Says:

    don’t know about this trouble- everything works fine on my end. tried it once last night and once tonight with success.

  6. Hello very good blog, you’re doing a great job.
    i’m also having problems with the starter download, always only get a 0 byte file.
    Greetings Oliver

  7. frankie teardrop Says:

    i reuploaded it, that should fix the trouble. happy new year.

  8. frankie teardrop Says:

    ps- adding a link to your blog right this moment, louissyfer!

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Thank for the re-upload, it’s working fine now. Definitely a real gem that could use a re-release in larger quantity. Thanks for all the other zshare re-uploads as well!

  10. ‘Part of you’ is a curious song, the lyrics are something like this-

    ‘Since I saw you/I know you’re the only/that I have to get/its just a problem/you are only 14/but this (something) makes me wet/why not coming down on me/or is it that you are afraid/I really gotta turn you on/when you’re going to be late/why not coming down on me/or is it that you are afraid/I really gotta turn you on/when you’re going to be late/part of you/part of you/part of you/part/of/you’

  11. Kid Veidt Says:

    Spectacular stuff !
    Thank you so much for sharing.


  13. Anonymous Says:

    I just checked back to see if anyone ever responded to my question of the lyrics. That is what I thought he was saying. The song sounds really cool,but…I don't much care for the weird innuendos.

  14. Anonymous Says:

    T'is being reissued…

  15. Like this a lot, thank you! You always have the best stuff.

  16. ty a ot for share music, i am from latin america!

  17. I have bonis DVD-R for this Album – “Starter – Start DVD. if you need to – please mail me or to my site

  18. Thanks for this upload! Sadly the band did not include “Hit the floor” (B-side to “Victim of the beat”). Can anybody share this?

  19. Starter – Night By Night cd for sale ???

  20. shop?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *