7/12” grab bag #3

Last year, I made a point to upload a few rare 7” recordings in one post, offering a few new sounds for folks to pick up on. These proved to be rather popular, so I’ve decided to bring the series back. Here’s a blurb about each of the following releases:

Land of Giants- Cannibal Dolls/Seven Men 12”
Land of Giants were a Candian minimal wave band who released this one 12” single in 1982. The single topped the college charts in its day, and was praised by John Peel. No further release would appear until recently, when the band issued a CD featuring several new and unheard demo tracks recorded between 1982 and 1985, which can be purchased via paypal here.

1. Cannibal Dolls
2. Seven Men

Chromagain- Any Colour You Like Mini-LP
Once uploaded by Ale at the sadly defunct 7” From the Underground blog, this particular gem is one of the best wave recordings of its time. The three piece band hailed from Italy, and released this one five track record in 1985. “Satisfied” is easily one of my favorite tunes from the entire wave spectrum, so be sure to give this one a spin. *NOW REISSUED VIA ALESSANDRO’S OWN MANNEQUIN RECORDS!*

1. Satisfied
2. Spot
3. Killing Dome
4. After The Clouds
5. Season of Steel

Body 11- Mind 7”
Lone 1988 release by this German industrial/ebm collective. Nice and hard-hitting, with a few dance grooves thrown in for good measure. If anyone has any further information about this German duo’s whereabouts, feel free to pass it along!

1. Wasteland II
2. Fire
3. Hearts
4. Attack

Kuruki- Such a Liar 12”
Belgian new wave/italo-flavored duo known for their underground hit “Crocodile Tears,” released as a one-off single in 1981. That particular track also appears on this particular 12”, released just a few months later. A handful of singles followed over the next few years, and a full length appeared in 1984. Currently, vocalist Gerry D’Haeyer is in cahoots with Roland Van Campenhout, a Belgian blues artist.

The full length, TV Scape is available on Mutant Sounds, while 7” From the Underground has featured their debut single.

1. Such a Liar
2. Crocodile Tears
3. Yack Yack


18 Responses to “7/12” grab bag #3”

  1. Television Says:

    Lots of goodies today.


  2. password?

  3. frankie teardrop Says:

    none necessary, marc!

  4. sorry
    the first time I tried to extract, it prompted me for a password. second time, no problem.
    great site by the way, thank you for all you do

  5. frankie teardrop Says:

    curious…glad it worked out, marc. otherwise, my pleasure, both of you!

  6. Richgatkow Says:

    GREAT blog! Do you know why I love these grab bags? They remind me of when I would go record shopping in the early 80’s and buy 7″s and 12″s just because of the covers or because of some obscure info on the sleeve. I was always bound to find something amazing as I always do on your blog!

  7. Hi, many thanks for all this good music than you have uploaded in this superb music blog, one of the my top ten favourites. Superb the Body 11- Mind Ep and the Land of Giants- Cannibal Dolls, two rare records very hard to find in vinyl format.

    Please Frankie, take a look to these 2 songs and help me to identify them or give some clue, I hope you recognize some of them (the 2 tunes are around 1986, batcave style I think…)

    01 – MISSING1
    02 – MISSING2


  8. Cannibal Dolls: Oh yes I remember this. Thanks so much!

  9. Crash The Driver Says:

    Thanks for the Land Of Giants–a lost classic of the Canadian minimal synth scene. Thanks, too, for linking to The Same Mistakes–we appreciate the traffic at our humble annex to all the great work you do here.

    Crash The Driver

  10. This one looks like it’ll be great too! THANKS!

    And Paul, the seconds track you uploaded that you are wondering about is called “Designer Lamps” by Pete Shelley, b-side of his “Waiting For Love” single. No clue what the first track could be.

  11. Hey Richgatkow! you made my day mate, many THANKS for the info about the track from Pete Shelley, “Designer Lamps” is an outstanding and totally weird track with dark industrial synths and screaming voices.

    I wish you have a good success with http://babakazoo.blogspot.com/ now it’s marked in my favourites music blogs.


  12. oldskool Says:

    Though I do not like EBM very much I really like the Body 11 EP. The voice is good, not as ridiculously "dark" as in most other EBM tracks. Also I like the sounds they use (nice lead sounds, likeable drum sounds, not the terrible ones that spoil almost every mid to late 80s' production), and the songwriting is great! Thank you!

  13. oldskool Says:

    @paul: Why don't you leave this Pete Shelley song where it was? I would like to listen to it and I guess I am not the only one.

  14. elektro Says:

    Hi oldskool, I'm "Paul", here you can download the Pete Selley track ripped from my vinyl copy: http://www.multiupload.com/ADRWRUUFBI hope you enjoy it.
    Best regards,


  15. oldskool Says:

    Thank you electro-Paul, that's weird stuff indeed.

  16. Hey there, I absolutely adore your blog first and foremost, secondly, I was wondering if you have the new reissue of Chromagain's ep 'any color we liked' it aparantly comes with bonus tracks.

  17. frankie teardrop Says:

    Chesney, I do have the new Chromagain reissue via Mannequin Records and can't recommend it enough. I'm sure you'll understand why I can't post it, however, as it's still in print and we should all support the original artist whenever possible! Be sure to grab a copy if you haven't already!

  18. Absolutely superb!
    Danke schön…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *