New Buildings- Le Dernier Homme & Your Message 12”

Second on the slab for this weekend are the first two 12”s by Spanish band New Buildings, who come across as a hybrid of minimal synth and dark, gloomy post-punk. Kind of reminds me a bit of Q4U, or perhaps a more subdued version of Xmal Deutschland. Not a lot of information to be found about the band, but I believe this original lineup parted ways in 1983, reforming four years later as simply Buildings. Three releases followed in 1987/8. Not sure if the change in name also signified a change in sound, so perhaps someone out there can shed a little light on the subject. With that in mind, here’s the two New Buildings releases for your listening pleasure.

New Buildings- Le Dernier Homme 12” (1983)
1. Le Dernier Homme
2. Humo
3. Longues Avenues

New Buildings- Your Message 12” (1984)
1. Your Message
2. Historias Para Largos Recorridos
3. New Buildings

*download both here*

5 Responses to “New Buildings- Le Dernier Homme & Your Message 12””

  1. Anonymous Says:

    It looks like there's a problem with the download link – you can get to the download page, but clicking on 'Click here to start download..' never actually starts it. All the other files in your shared folder seem to work fine, though.

    Thanks for everything you've shared, BTW – I don't think I've ever properly communicated how much I appreciate it, so there you go 🙂

  2. frankie teardrop Says:

    hey there- give the file a whirl again, i don't seem to have any trouble over here. might have just been a temporary issue?

    otherwise, thanks for the comment! means a lot to hear something from the ether!

  3. hifihillary Says:

    yep, download workin' fine for me… 🙂

  4. Strawberry Death Jelly Says:

    This is either really awesome or I'm a sucker for the Q4U/Xmal Deutchland sound…
    Thanks again!

  5. Aunque cambiaron de nombre, la discografia de esta banda es mucho mas extensa que estos dos discos, y editaron más de tres trabajos con el nombre de "Buildings".
    aquí lo podrás consultar:

    de todos modos, buena música en este blog. saludos.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *