Hang the Dance- Ghost Bloody Country LP

February seems to be a very post-punk month for Systems of Romance thus far. With that in mind here’s an excellent LP from the UK which I discovered in a local record bin for just a few dollars. A random purchase, selected on the strength of the cover and a quick turntable preview. Some awesome sounds here, reminiscent of Southern/Death Cult, but with clear, catchy synth lines on a handful of the tracks. Fans of bands such as Play Dead, Into A Circle, Snake Corps, and the Situation Two sound should really enjoy this one.

This appears to be the band’s only full length LP, though three singles were released around the same time. While there isn’t a lot of information about the band themselves, many gigographies include shows with the band over the years. Most notably, member Roman Remeynes sparked some controversy when calling in about the Ukranian John Peel Sessions performed by The Wedding Present. Fluent in Ukranian, Remeynes playfully stated that the band was ‘bastardizing the music.’ He was then invited to join in for the second peel session!

Here’s the info:

Hang the Dance- Ghost Bloody Country LP
1. Enfold
2. On the Waterfront
3. Babysitter
4. Horseflesh
5. Ghost Bloody Country
6. Host
7. Mahogany Day
8. Slate Detail
9. Look At Heaven
10. Some Sacred Ground

*download it here* (Re-ripped 8.13.17)

7 Responses to “Hang the Dance- Ghost Bloody Country LP”

  1. I am a follower of this great blog. I enjoy your contributions.
    all the best for you and long life to the blog …..
    I liked the songs 1,2,9,10

  2. About 25 years ago, I was a French student in Paris le Quartier Latin where La Danceteria and New Rose have their stores. Incredible the work you offer to us. I'm downloading for some days now and found on your site all the gems I could not buy at this time. Thanks a lot !!!!

  3. I have all three singles of this band. Listening to singles , I had a strange sensation that Hang the Dance's intention was a parody about the scene before some 25 years… Because of that I didn't bother to get the full length…
    And the LP is really OK. Much better than strange sounds on their singles (just listen to their version of break on through – doors cover. Associated with strange picture sleeve…)
    Another band from Leeds independent label.

  4. Anonymous Says:


    I took the photos for the Hang the Dance album cover. Sadly don't have a copy of the album any more, though I do have the pics. Be grateful if your could send a decent res scan when you get chance. Cheers Steve Mc

  5. canteloupe Says:


    My name is John MacHeath and I was the vocalist and lyric writer on this album. Nice to hear the music again after all this time.
    Please check out my current band http://www.myspace.com/jamesonraid

    Regards; JMac.

  6. frankie teardrop Says:

    Great to hear from you, John! Thanks for the updates on what you're up to!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *