Neon- A Day In the Land of Lost Horizons 12” + Demo K7

According to discogs, there are FORTY THREE bands that use the name Neon.  While there are several excellent entries (most notably the Italian darkwave project responsible for “Lobotomy,” “Dark Age,” and “My Blues Is You”), today’s post focuses on the Dutch variant, who released one 12”/mini-LP/whatever you want to call it in 1981.

For those who are unfamiliar with this one, you can expect excellent cold post-punk sounds reminiscent of Flue, Mecano, etc.  The touchstones make absolute sense, as this record was released by Sublabel, a division of Torso, which featured both those bands.  Sublabel also boasts the most excellent Phantom Limb 12”, another underrated genre classic.  I just found a copy kicking around in NYC and cleaned/re-ripped it, so for those familiar with this 12” already, you can expect some nice fidelity here, and for those who haven’t heard this one before, you’re in for a real treat.  As a bonus, I’ve uploaded a demo recording that features four exclusive tracks and another pass on “Standing On the Other Side.”  Enjoy!

Neon- A Day In the Land of Lost Horizons LP
1. A Day In The Land Of Lost Horizons
2. Standing On The Other Side
3. Liquid Gold
4. Icemen
5. Duet

Neon- Demo
1. Muscle Called Heart
2. Over My Head
3. Standing On the Other Side
4. Promised Land
5. Faces

*download both here*

EDIT 8.21.12: there was a slight hum on the 12” rip, which has since been fixed.  Feel free to download again.

6 Responses to “Neon- A Day In the Land of Lost Horizons 12” + Demo K7”

  1. Thank You.Alex.

  2. Never knew about the demo. Nice surprise. Thanks!

  3. Stéphane Says:

    all tracks of the demo are excellent …. ! 🙂

  4. Thanks so much!

  5. Where it is possible to get hard copy of their music??

  6. Marcel V. Says:

    Nice: on a grey January day thrown back in time for almost 40 years with this classic new wave music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *