Archive for the martin hannett Category

Orchestre Rouge- Yellow Laugher LP + Soon Come Violence 7”

Posted in 1980s, 1982, coldwave, end of data, french, martin hannett, Orchestre Rouge, passion fodder, post-punk, tanit on February 2, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

I was just reminded about this killer album through a video posting on ye ol’ Facebook, perpetual time waster and otherwise social networking site. With that in mind, I’ve uploaded a killer full length by French coldwave band Orchestre Rouge. Attached is their debut record, 1982’s Yellow Laughter, a particularly driving guitar record released on RCA. The record was lovingly produced by Martin Hannett, famed producer for Joy Divison, Blue In Heaven, and a slew of other Factory Records bands.

As for membership, the band was a five piece, featuring Pascal Normal, who worked with both Tanit and End of Data after Orchestre Rouge’s disbandment. Théo Hakola and Denis Goulag went on to form Passion Fodder, taking their name from Orchestre Rouge’s second LP. As a quick aside, Passion Fodder also featured bassist Pascal Humbert, formerly of Tanit, now known for his work in both 16 Horsepower and Wovenhand. Pretty small world!

Anyway, I’ve also included the the 7” of “Soon Come Violence,” the band’s first single, featuring an exclusive b-side. Without any further ado, here’s the information:

Orchestre Rouge- Yellow Laughter LP
1. Soon Come Violence
2. Je Cherche Une Drogue (Qui Ne Fait Pas Mal)
3. Soft Kiss
4. Red Orange Blue
5. Hole In His Thigh
6. The Consul
7. Speakerine
8. Slugs
9. Crows

Orchestre Rouge- Soon Come Violence 7”
1. Soon Come Violence
2. Kazettlers Zeks

*download both here*

Blue In Heaven- Explicit Material LP

Posted in 1980s, 1986, blue in heaven, irish, martin hannett, post-punk on July 7, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Apologies again for the delay, ladies and gentlemen. My internet was out for the majority of last week, and was finally restored after the 4th.

On that note, I’m tackling a few quick requests this week. First up is the second Blue In Heaven LP, 1986’s Explicit Material. There are several rips of this record floating around online, but all are either incomplete or terrible quality, so I zipped this one up straight from my own shelves. Here’s the relevant info:

Blue In Heaven- Explicit Material
1. Change Your Mind
2. Tell Me
3. Just Another Day
4. Sister
5. Be Your Man
6. I Just Wanna
7. Close Your Eyes
8. Rolling In The Crowd
9. Hope To God

*download it here* (RE-RIPPED 1/6/16)

In case you missed it, click here for the band’s first record. Otherwise, I’m desperately seeking the band’s final EP, entitled Rock ‘n’ Roll R.I.P.. If anyone has it, please drop a note and point me in the proper direction. I’m also in possession of one of the band’s early singles, but am missing all other singles/b-sides aside from the Across My Heart 12”. Holler if you’ve got them. Otherwise, happy Monday!

Blue In Heaven- All the God’s Men LP

Posted in 1980s, 1981, blue in heaven, irish, martin hannett, post-punk on June 6, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Blue In Heaven were a band I covered ages ago, before Systems of Romance became more album-focused. However, as I’ve just nabbed a copy of their debut record off Ebay for a mere buck (a refreshing change from the usual prices most albums I post fetch), I figure it’s appropriate to revisit them for a full length feature.

A quick recap: Blue In Heaven formed in Dublin in 1982, and quickly gained a heavy cult following due to their post-punk edge, recalling the likes of early Bunnymen, the Chameleons, and U2 (who championed the budding band every chance they could). Their first record was produced by Martin Hannett, notorious for his production work with Joy Division/New Order and the rest of the Factory family.

The band’s discography consists ofr a handful of singles, two full length records (1985’s All the God’s Men and 1986’s Explicit Material), and a final EP (if anyone has this, please send it my way). The band split in 1989, and soon after, they reformed with a slight shift in direction as Blue Angels, who released one full-length record in 1993.

Here’s the info and link for Blue In Heaven’s debut:

Blue In Heaven- All the God’s Men LP
1. Sometimes
2. The Big Beat
3. It’s Saturday
4. Old Ned
5. All You Fear
6. Julie Cries
7. Like A Child
8. In Your Eyes
9. Slowly

*download it here* (RE-RIPPED 1/6/16)

No official videos from this era, but click below for some live footage of Blue In Heaven performing ‘Red Dress’ live @ Self Aid. This song, though a regular in their live set, has never appeared on any Blue In Heaven release…