Archive for the norma loy Category

Various Artists- Unreleased Vol. 1 K7

Posted in 1987, asylum party, cassette, clair obscur, coldwave, compilations, darkwave, little nemo, mary goes round, norma loy, Orchestre Rouge, post-punk, unreleased, various artists on February 23, 2012 by Frankie Teardrop

Since it seems like all links for the original Unreleased cassette are dead in the water or at a very low bit rate, here’s a fresh 320 kbps, fresh from the cassette! This one is arguably the most orthodox of the series, featuring several “household names” from the French coldwave/touching pop scene, many making their first or second recorded appearance here. Every band here hails from France, with the exception of The Cultural Decay (Belgium), and a rare track from Factory darlings Section 25.

Interesting how each of these compilations appear on a different medium, huh? I wonder if a fourth compilation will ever surface on 8 track…

Various Artists- Unreleased Volume 1 K7
1. Section 25– Human Puppets
2. Asylum Party– Where Have You Gone My Friend?
3. Brigade Internationale– Memories And Break
4. Clair Obscur– Wreck
5. Mary Goes Round– The Shelter
6. Odessa– Trouble
7. Brigade Internationale– Silence Of My Brain
8. Orchestre Rouge– 1980
9. Art Remains Tangible– Numéro 32
10 Little Nemo– Future Is Now
11. Norma Loy– Ghost Parasites
12. Brigade Internationale– Eyes On The Volcano
13. Complot Bronswick– Panem And Circences
14. The Cultural Decay– I Never Loved You

*download it here*

Epitaphe- Syndrome 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1983, coldwave, epitaphe, goth, goth-rock, norma loy, post-punk, resistance on January 10, 2012 by Frankie Teardrop

You may have seen this one posted in the past, but I’ve just purchased a great sounding copy and felt the need to re-rip it at 320kpbs for everyone’s listening pleasure.

This limited edition, 1983 mini-LP is a true coldwave masterpiece, brought to you by members of Norma Loy and Résistance, you can expect the same sort of brilliance here over the course of six tracks. My favorite is “La Joie,” but there really isn’t a weak track to be found on this 12”.

Obviously for fans of the French coldwave sound, as well as of early Modern English, Seventeen Seconds, Joy Division, etc. But why are you still reading this? Do yourself a favor and grab this one now now NOW!

Epitaphe- Syndrome 12”
1. L’Ecume De Mes Regrets
2. In The Castle
3. La Joie
4. Appear
5. Afraid To Die
6. Out Of Time

*download it here*

Various Artists- Passage Du Trou Marin K7

Posted in 1980s, 1990s, 1991, babel 17, coldwave, compilations, l'enfance eternelle, little nemo, norma loy, passage du trou marin, resistance on January 5, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

It’s been quite some time since I’ve posted some classic coldwave, so here’s a rare cassette compilation for you folks to kick off 2010. Released in 1991, this compilation collects a slew of classic coldwave artists, with a few more obscure gems thrown in for good measure. Many of the bands on this tape have been featured earlier on this blog, including Little Nemo, Babel 17, L’Enfance Éternelle, Norma Loy, and Résistance. Otherwise, this compilation collects a series of exclusive tracks (b-sides, non-album cuts, live performances), making this release a necessity for coldwave collectors everywhere.

Dépendance Continue, the French label who released this cassette, also released a similar cassette two years prior, entitled Mea Pulpa (featuring rare tracks by Asylum Party, Vox Dei, and Complot Bronswick). I’m happy to post that soon if anyone’s interested. That said, here’s the info for this release.

Various Artists- Passage Du Trou Marin K7
1. Palo Alto- Cible Sans Cils
2. Tuatha De Danann- Mesta In Telessa
3. Norma Loy- We Shall Win
4. Nervous Twitch- Nothing At All
5. Lucie Cries- Clara
6. Mazerno- Marteau Pilique
7. Résistance- Out Of The Body
8. Kafkha- Soleil Sur Rivière
9. Noise Gate- No Thank You
10. Alméria- Finambule
11. Little Nemo- Old Age
12. No Speak- Fire Song
13. Scalpel Humain- Death Angel
14. Babel 17- Low High
15. Die Bunker- Alone With Somebody
16. Wunderlich Ausgang- Train
17. Zorn- Prières
18. L’Enfance Éternelle- Plaisirs Acides
19. Modèle Martial- L’Amour Froid
20. Les Frères Straforelli- Tentatives

Tracks 1-11: Side 1 (Début…)
Tracks 12-20: Side 2 (…Fin)

*download it here*

Norma Loy- Romance 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1983, 2000s, coldwave, french, minimal synth, norma loy, post-punk on February 25, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Today’s post is the very first 12” single by classic French coldwave band Norma Loy, one of the first bands of the genre, and one of the few to get significant exposure outside of their home country. Though original members Usher and Chelsea first met and collaborated in 1977, Norma Loy properly formed in 1981, dubbed so by Alan Vega of Suicide. Heavily drawing on the intensity of post-punk, the cold buzzing synths of minimal synth, and the theatrics of performance art, the band released several singles and full lengths with various lineups before disbanding in 1993. Usher and Chelsea continued their collaborations sporadically while each explored solo projects and various other art experiments in alternate mediums. In the meanwhile, the band’s influence grew, as several compilations and reissues sprung up from the band’s ashes.

After a thirteen year hiatus, Norma Loy reformed for a series of hometown shows, original members Chelsea and Usher joined by Lol (bass), Yann Reversat (guitar), Guillaume (drums), and Helene (buto dance). The band is seemingly still active, most recently appearing in Prague, yet no new material has surfaced.

I’ve uploaded their very first release, 1983’s Romance 12”. Without any further delay, the details:

Norma Loy- Romance 12”
1. Romance
2. Crazy Soul
3. Glance In Your Eyes
4. Tragic Venus

*download it here*

For your supplementary viewing pleasure, here’s a video clip for the band’s most well known tune, ‘Power of Spirit.’

For more info on Norma Loy, please visit their myspace page below. Also, Infrastition has reissued several of the band’s classic records, including the four tracks above (as part of an early singles compilation). Pick ’em up if you’re hip to it!

Norma Loy on myspace
Infrastition dot com