Archive for the chris + cosey Category

Chris Carter- The Space Between Cassette

Posted in 1980, 1980s, ambient, chris + cosey, chris carter, industrial, minimal, minimal synth on April 28, 2009 by Frankie Teardrop

Today’s artist should need no introduction, as he’s a member of several pioneering electronic acts including the likes of Throbbing Gristle and Chris and Cosey/Carter Tutti. Though Chris Carter lent his skills primarily to these outfits, the English musician recorded several of his own more electronic and less abrasive pieces on the side.

This particular release, Carter’s first solo outing, consists of several synth/wave instrumental recordings made in the legendary Throbbing Gristle studio. Though it’s been re-released several times over (never on vinyl), The Space Between originally appeared in cassette form, with little information and no tracklisting. The original pressing was released on TG’s Industrial Records, while subsequent CD reissues appeared on Elektra and The Grey Area.

Without any further ado, here’s the information for the record, and the link for your perusal:

Chris Carter- The Space Between Cassette
1. Beat
2. Outreach
3. Electrodub 1
4. Clouds
5. Reprise
6. Electrodub 2
7. Poptone
8. Slomo
9. Walkabout
10. Maybe
11. Falling
12. Solidit
13. Snap
14. Interloop
15. Resonance

*download it here*

Chris + Cosey

Posted in 1980s, 1990s, ambient, chris + cosey, industrial, synth, uk, wave on October 22, 2007 by Frankie Teardrop

Today’s post features Chris + Cosey*, an eclectic and prolific duo formed in the wake of Throbbing Gristle’s initial demise.

In 1981, hot on the heels** of their previous outfit’s split, members Chris Carter and Cosey Fanni Tutti formed a duo to continue their musical experiments. Though their approach still featured some sonic similarities to Throbbing Gristle’s pioneering industrial work, Chris + Cosey would apply more song structure and pop sensibilities to some of their records, whilst others would meander just as dangerously.

Chris + Cosey would release over a dozen albums on several different labels, including their own Conspiracy International (aka CTI) label, and would record several collaborative works with the likes of Monte Cazzaza***, Coil, and the Eurythmics throughout their tenure. Though both members have explored solo ventures under CTI, the duo still collaborate together, these days as Carter Tutti, and the pair have also reactivated Throbbing Gristle with other original members Genesis P-Orridge and Peter Christopherson, and have released an EP and a full length under their original outfit.

Though my favorite Chris + Cosey track remains ‘Haunted Heroes,’ a brief haunting ambient piece, I’ve uploaded three of their more synth/wave tracks for your listening pleasure. The first opens their 1985 record Techno Primitiv, the second hails from 1989’s Trust, and the third is featured on 1991’s Pagan Tango.

download Chris + Cosey- ‘Hazey Daze’
download Chris + Cosey- ‘Percusex’
download Chris + Cosey- ‘Cords of Love’

and for your eyes, the video for 1984 track ‘The Final Calling:’

For a full discography and tons of information on Chris + Cosey, including links to purchase more choice CTI recordings, please visit the following link:

Chris + Cosey homepage

*normally, there’s an ampersand in their name instead of a plus sign, but blogger won’t let me use one.
**see what i did there?
***who may appear shortly in these pages.