Archive for the dawn fades Category

Dawn Fades- Demo K7 & Nine Thorns CD

Posted in 1990s, 1993, 1997, dawn fades, italian, post-punk on February 12, 2018 by Frankie Teardrop

Back in 2011, I posted the debut EP from Italian post-punk band Dawn Fades, who invoked the spirit of Killing Joke, Lucie Cries, and even early Modern English. I’ve updated the original post with a 320kbps of the CD, but what better time to post the rest of the band’s discography, which includes an earlier demo as well as a full length album.

I’ve been sitting on the full album for some time, as it took me a few listens to really appreciate it. While the band’s trademark heavy guitars and post-punk fury are still intact, there are a slew of late 90s electronics at play here, which may or may not be to some folks’ liking. The record came out in 1997, and definitely channels much of that alternative/industrial sound. If you don’t mind a little Nine Inch Nails/early 90s Killing Joke in your post-punk, it’s a great listen!

The demo tape precedes the original EP and was released in limited quantities in 1993 (and repressed in 1994). The majority of the cassette is live, but there are two studio cuts (and an intro) to kick things off. The live cuts are a mix of originals and covers, two of which were originally by Joy Division, the band’s clear namesake. The version of Sixteen Days is identical to the one that appears on the EP.

I’d like to thank Marc, the drummer of Lucie Cries, for contributing a rip of this cassette! If you aren’t already familiar with his band, please make it your first priority to check them out! There have been several reissues of the band’s catalog – a LP of selected cuts as well as a deluxe CD package of the full discography. Thanks again, Marc, and hope you all enjoy these releases!

Dawn Fades- Dawn Fades K7 (1993)
1. Intro
2. The Rape
3. Young God
4. What Use? (live)
5. Sixteen Days (live)
6. Coil (live)
7. Shadowplay (live)
8. The Rape (live)
9. Transmission (live)

Dawn Fades- Nine Thorns (1997)
1. Nine Thorns
2. Anger
3. 1.6
4. She Will Be
5. Loop
6. Collapse And Confusion
7. Lust
8. Control
9. Off

*download both here*

Dawn Fades- Fucking Face CD

Posted in 1990s, 1995, coldwave, dawn fades, goth, italian, post-punk on June 13, 2011 by Frankie Teardrop

Now here’s one that I’ve loved since the first time I heard it many moons ago, during the early phase of the Wierd Records party. It’s since become a DJ favorite here as well, and never fails to kick things up a notch. Great driving Italian coldwave-styled post-punk here, four tracks long. Aggressive, hard hitting, and chock full of incisive guitars and moody synths, just the way I like it. Reminds me a bit of Lucie Cries, for anyone looking for comparisons/touchstones.

The four piece band formed in 1992, taking their name from the infamous Joy Division track, and this debut CD was released in 1995. It was followed by one full length LP in 1997, just before the band split. However, they can be found on Facebook, for all curious parties.

Here’s the info for this killer disc.

Dawn Fades- Fucking Face CD
1. Fucking Face
2. Sonic Head
3. Not My Life
4. Sixteen Days (Live)

*download it here* (Re-ripped @320kbps on 2.12.17)

Track four is indeed a live cover of the Modern English favorite!