Archive for the austrian Category

Neuer Frühling- Abendlos 7”

Posted in 1980s, 1982, austrian, minimal, minimal synth, NDW, new wave, post-punk on May 17, 2011 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s a minimal synth/NDW hybrid 7” from 1982. Nothing out of the ordinary for the genre, but two very good tracks indeed. The guitar driven a-side is the clear winner for me, while the b-side has a bit of a reggae feel to it.

This particular 7” was released on CBS Records (a surprising choice for a major label), and is the product of two Austrian musicians. Drummer Gerhart Walenta was also involved in an Austrian psych/prog band called Paternoster, who released one record in 1972.

Here’s the info:

Neuer Frühling- Abendlos 7”
1. Abendlos
2. Liebesversuch

*download it here*

For those who prefer to own an original copy of this record, you can easily score one on the web for a reasonable price, if you know where to look. Get it while the getting is good!

Graf+Zyx- Trust No Woman LP

Posted in 1980s, 1981, austrian, zyx on February 13, 2009 by Frankie Teardrop

Revisiting an old post from back in the day, and re/uploading the full Zyx record as a quick request, as our friend Soundhead is having a rest after the great zshare crash of ’08.

Check out the old post (linked above) for information about this Austrian wave act. Otherwise, check out the full record below. Apologies for the bit rate, 160kpbs seems to be the best that’s around.

Graf+Zyx- Trust No Woman LP
1. Get Away Wisdom
2. Hey You
3. Little Boy’s Desires
4. Away To Freedom
5. When Darkness Comes
6. Trust No Woman
7. Sister Green Eyes
8. Mawkish
9. Bad Manners
10. What Do You Live For

*DOWNLOAD REMOVED* – this lp was reissued by Dark Entries Records!

Stay tuned, I have a 12” grab bag coming this afternoon!


Posted in 1980s, austrian, minimal, wave, zyx on October 10, 2007 by Frankie Teardrop

Today’s post features Austrain wave act ZYX, little known duo whose first and only record, Trust No Woman was released in 1981. Since it’s inception, it’s become a pioneering electronic recording and has recently seen an expanded cd rerelease, including a slew of earlier recordings as bonus tracks.

Little information is known about this gem, aside from a few bits about the duo’s work in performance arts and television after releasing Trust No Woman. If anyone else has anything else to contribute, chime up! Otherwise, here’s two standout tracks from Trust No Woman for your enjoyment.

download ZYX- ‘Trust No Woman’
download ZYX- ‘Bad Manners’

To pick up a cd copy of Trust No Woman, rereleased under the name Graf + Zyx and complete with bonus materials, click the link below:

Purchase ZYX- Trust No Woman