Archive for the grauzone Category

Grauzone- Die Sunrise Tapes LP

Posted in 1991, grauzone, minimal, NDW, new wave, swiss, synth on March 30, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

A quick lazy Sunday post…I’ve had this one uploaded on divshare for a few months now, but forgot to post it here for everyone to enjoy. For a full writeup on Grauzone, see this post here, and otherwise, enjoy this classic Swiss minimal collection, released in 1998 and compiling Grauzone’s studio output.

Grauzone- Die Sunrise Tapes LP
1. Film 2
2. Eisbar
3. Hinter Den Bergen
4. Maikafer Flieg
5. Marmelade Und Himbeereis
6. Wutendes Glas
7. Kalte Kriecht
8. Kunstgewerbe
9. Der Weg Zu Zweit
10. In Der Nacht
11. Traume Mit Mir
12. Ich Und Du
13. Moskau
14. Ich Lieb Sie
15. Schlachtet
16. Raum

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED*- Full Grauzone discography has been reissued as of 2010. Click here to grab a copy from CD Baby.


Posted in 1980s, german, grauzone, minimal, NDW, swiss, synth, wave on September 21, 2007 by Frankie Teardrop

A request fulfilled! A quick reminder to chime up in the comments if you’d like to see a specific band featured- whether you’re involved, a fan, or trying to get ahold of more material or information.

That said, today’s band is Grauzone, a Swiss wave band who released but a few singles and one LP before disbanding. The band was the brainchild of multilingual singer Stephen Eicher and formed in 1978 along with his brother Martin, G.T. on bass, Claudine Chirac on sax, and Marco Repetto on drums. Though of Swiss origin, the majority of Grauzone’s songs were sung in German, breaking into a budding synth movement with their mild hit ‘Eisbär’ in 1981.

Soon after, their self titled full-length was released and Grauzone disbanded. However, Stephen’s interest in French music sparked a successful solo career as an ever changing musician, his future (and current) work covering a broad range of genres.

I’ve uploaded a duo of tracks for your enjoyment. The first is ‘Eisbär,’ their initial buzz single (which has since been covered prominently by both the Dresdon Dolls AND Nouvelle Vague) and the second hails from Die Sunrise Tapes, a pressed to CD collection of Grauzone’s work released in 1998.

download Grauzone- ‘Eisbär’
download Grauzone- ‘Schlachtet!’

Die Sunrise Tapes seems to be the only available and in-print CD available from Grauzone, though their vinyl is relatively easy to find on Ebay. For a link to nab Die Sunrise Tapes online, click below: