Archive for the b-movie Category

Six Sed Red- Shake It Right 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1984, b-movie, cabaret voltaire, electro, Marc and the Mambas, soft cell, synth, synthpop on November 13, 2012 by Frankie Teardrop

This one goes out to Tamaryn, who’s currently touring behind Tender New Signs, my favorite record of 2012.  It’s been a while since we had anything club-friendly here, so here’s a fresh rip of one of my favorite WIERD DJ staples.  You may have seen this circulating around as bx-59cppw’s debut post, and there he sheds some light on this mysterious 12” from 1984.   Released on Sire, this single was produced by Cabaret Voltaire and features two tracks by the duo of Cindy Ecstasy (Soft Cell/Marc and the Mambas) and Rick Holliday (early B-Movie lineup).  It’s as good as it gets for club-ready, sex-dripping electro, and sounds to me like Prince and the girls from Strawberry Switchblade decided to record a cover of “Sensoria.”

Seriously.  You guys are going to love this one.

Six Sed Red- Shake It Right 12”
1. Shake It Right
2. Bang ‘Em Right

*download it here*

B-Movie- Early Singles

Posted in 1980, 1980s, 1981, 1982, b-movie, new wave, paul statham, post-punk, some bizzare, synthpop, uk on November 23, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

When I think of the best UK bands, few spring to mind quicker than B-Movie. I’ve covered them twice here before, once with their 1985 LP Forever Running and then a few years later with their unstoppable Nowhere Girl 12”. I’ve been meaning to upload their earlier singles for some time now, probably years, but it just slipped through the cracks. I hope you’ll forgive me, folks.

That said, contained within this zip file is the majority of B-Movie’s early works, starting from their first 12”s in 1980 and spanning until 1984. Quite a prolific period for the band, with most of their best songs being issued in this two year time period.  Here’s the rundown:

B-Movie- Take Three 7” (1980)
1. The Soldier Stood Alone
2. Drowning Man
3. Soundtrack

B-Movie- Nowhere Girl (1980)
1. Nowhere Girl
2. This Still Life
3. Institution Walls
4. Airplanes & Mountains
5. Left Out In The Cold
6. Remembrance Day

B-Movie- Remembrance Day 12” (1981)
1. Remembrance Day
2. Institution Walls (Remix)

B-Movie- Marilyn Dreams 7” (1981)
1. Marilyn Dreams
2. Film Music Part 1

B-Movie- Marilyn Dreams 12” (1981)
1. Marilyn Dreams

B-Movie- Nowhere Girl 7” (1982)
1. Nowhere Girl (Version)
2. Scare Some Life Into Me

B-Movie- Nowhere Girl 12”
1. Nowhere Girl (Version)
2. Remembrance Day
3. Nowhere Girl (Short Version)

B-Movie- A Letter From Afar (1984)
1. A Letter From Afar (Big Mix)
2. A Letter From Afar (Instrumental Mix)
3. A Letter From Afar (Small Mix)

*download it all here*

Again, in case you missed them the first time- here’s the full Nowhere Girl 12” (including the 12” extended mix) and their 1985 LP, Forever Running.

B-Movie- Nowhere Girl 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1982, b-movie, paul statham, post-punk, some bizzare, uk on May 13, 2009 by Frankie Teardrop

Just ripped this one up this morning for a chum and figured I’d post it here for you folks to enjoy as well. I’ve already covered B-Movie in the past, but that particular record doesn’t hold much of a candle to most of their earlier single work, even though both tracks on this particular 12” appear in re-recorded form on Forever Running. In fact, the two featured tracks have been re-recorded countless times, and I’ve lost track of just how many versions of these two songs exist. Fortunately, they’re both fantastic slices of synth-based post-punk.

This particular single has also been re-released several times over, via original label Some Bizzare and various other labels since its original appearance in 1980. This particular one was issued on Sire in 1982, but my copy still boasts the Some Bizzare logo. Curious. Anyway, without any further ado, here’s the information.

B-Movie- Nowhere Girl 12” (1982, Sire/Some Bizzare)
1. Nowhere Girl (Version)
2. Remembrance Day
3. Nowhere Girl (Short Version)

*download it here* (RE-RIPPED 1.14.14)

I may have the previous versions of the single (most with exclusive b-sides and alternate versions) kicking around in digital form, for any interested parties.

B-Movie- Forever Running LP

Posted in 1980s, 1985, b-movie, paul statham, post-punk, some bizzare, uk on July 25, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

And now, for a lighter affair of sorts…This band’s been a recent obsession of mine for some time now; a little catchy wave/post-punk outfit from the UK called B-Movie, who combined catchy and punchy post-punk with a synth edge. You can find them on the Some Bizzare Album I posted a few weeks back…

The band originally formed in 1978, fresh from the ashes of The Aborted, a local punk band. Though the band’s first release dates back to 1980, it took five years and several singles for the band to cut a proper record, 1985’s Forever Running. As a result of this, several versions of the same songs exist over the years, up until the band’s demise soon after Forever Running appeared. Since then, these early singles have been often compiled, resulting in The Dead Good Tapes and Volume 1- Remembrance Days respectively. A BBC sessions disc also appeared in 2001. This might very well be my favorite release of theirs, as the BBC versions feel less polished than the album below.

With all of this interest in the band’s back catalog, the band decided to reunite for a handful of shows in 2007. In the meanwhile, the ex-members of B-Movie have kept busy. Paul Statham has been the most prolific member of the band. Over the years, Paul has been involved with Peter Murphy’s early solo career (performing on and co-writing tunes on Love Hysteria, Deep, Holy Smoke, and Cascade). He also formed Peach, who signed to Mute Records in the mid-nineties, and has also been responsible for co-writing and producing material on Dido’s No Angel and Kylie Minogue’s Fever.

Well, I’ve just dropped a slew of information… Time for the release details:

B-Movie- Forever Running LP
1. Forever Running
2. Heart Of Gold
3. My Ship Of Dreams
4. Just An Echo
5. Remembrance Day
6. Switch On-Switch Off
7. Blind Allegiance
8. Arctic Summer
9. Nowhere Girl

*download it here*

It’s been ages since I’ve been able to post an official video, but here’s a TOTP-style clip for the 12” version of ‘Nowhere Girl.’ Click below to enjoy:

There exists a rather comprehensive B-Movie website, complete with (one half of) a bio, a full discography, several bits of information and fun Q&As, and other interested information. There are also a few links to pick up reissued B-Movie material and several post-B-Movie records. Dig it:

B-Movie official site