Archive for the norweigan Category

Dropopop- Knuste Drømmer 7”

Posted in 1980s, 1982, coldwave, dropopop, goth, goth-rock, norweigan, post-punk with tags on May 23, 2013 by Frankie Teardrop

This 7” was a recent discovery (on Youtube of all places), and it’s as cold as the night is long.  This one-off single from Norway was released in 1982 and bears a strong resemblance to the usual suspects, including heavy influence by Joy Division and early Cure, as well as sharing similar sonic territory with bands like the Dutch Neon, The Opposition’s amazing first record, and the U 137 single I just posted a few days ago.

The A-side is a recent obsession of mine with heavy drums and haunting melodies, but the two tracks on the flip are equally commanding, dark and intense listens.  The band have three more other songs spread across two different cassette comps. but I haven’t heard them.

As always, little to be found about the band.  It appears they were from Skien, a large shipping town in the Southeast of Norway. A four piece by defintion, there were two additional musicians on this single, one playing string synths and the other credited with additional drum work.  Their label, Uncle Remus Records, also released a 7” and LP by fellow Norweigans band Øresus, which you can grab here if you want some excellent anthemic punk a la Generation X or the KBD comps.  But I know you guys, you like it cold and dark…

Dropopop- Knuste Drømmer 7”
1. Knuste Drømmer
2. Frykt
3. Giftige Lepper

*download it here*

Plann- Elektra Elektra LP

Posted in 1980s, 1982, de press, holy toy, minimal synth, norweigan, plann, post-punk, synthpop on January 3, 2012 by Frankie Teardrop

Let’s kick off this year right, with a generous donation of a rare Norweigan synth pop record from 1982 from the duo of Kikkan Fossum and Lillie-Ane. The former’s credentials include The Cut, who appear on the excellent Maskindans compilation as well as on A Viable Commercial.

While these two are credited as the brainchildren of the band (errr, though I’m not sure who the third guy on the album cover is), there were quite a few notable (and also several unknown) contributors credited on the LP. Arne Lund of The Cut was one of three drummers who contributed to the LP, while Andrej Dziubek Nebb (De Press, Holy Toy) provides backing vocals on a few of the tracks. There were also three bassists and several other backing vocalists on the LP. In short, it seems like this two piece had a lot of help from their friends, and almost feels like a Norweigan supergroup of sorts.

The plethora of contributors on this LP leads to a diverse collection of songs, held together by the duo’s musical vision. This is one of the more interesting (and therefore, more satisfying) synth-based LPs I’ve heard in some time, where every track sounds different, yet all are enjoyable. Try it on for size and see for yourself:

Plann- Elektra Elektra LP
1. Cherokee
2. Lillie
3. Cabriolet
4. Er Virkelighet Drøm
5. Cûda Barracûda
6. Liv Liv
7. Sûg
8. Ato Signal
9. Hvit Løgn
10. Til Evig Tid

*download it here*

Berenek- Sound of Danger LP

Posted in 1980s, 1981, berenek, minimal, minimal synth, new wave, norweigan on July 26, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Gonna wrap up this month with two more posts in quick succession today, so bear with me, ladies and gentlemen. I’ll be touring with Mark Burgess of the Chameleons UK over the course of a few east coast, so Systems of Romance will be dormant until mid-august. Consider these three posts a series of cold treats for the upcoming August heat wave.

Up first we have the coveted full length record by Berenek, a Norweigan based minimal synth project helmed by Espen Beranek Holm, also known locally for his weekly radio program.

I haven’t heard Berenek’s many releases throughout the 1980s, but this first record, released in 1981, is a gem for sure, and fetches some insane prices on the internet. You may have seen it over at Mutant Sounds, but I’ve supplied a higher quality/bit rip, fresh from the wax. Expect some killer minimal synth grooves and alienating electronics. You can also catch a remastered version of “Pictures and Paintings” on the Maskindans compilation, a must-hear for any fan of minimal synth and obscure new wave. Here’s the info.

Berenek- Sound of Danger LP
1. Sound Of Danger
2. Pictures And Paintings
3. Crystal Dream
4. How Could We Simply Die
5. Search
6. So Many Things
7. Doorway
8. A Prisoner In A Silent Way
9. Can’t Go To Sleep

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED* – purchase the reissue via Dark Entries Records!

Svart Klovn- Knust Knekt 7”

Posted in 1980s, 1983, 7'', Kid Death, maskindans, minimal, minimal synth, norweigan, Svart Klovn on February 10, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s the 1983 debut single from Norweigan minimal synth artist Svart Klovn, otherwise known as Kid Death. The title track was also featured on the 1984 Burning the Midnight Sun compilation and later remastered for the fantastic Maskindans compilation that dropped last year, while the b-side is a fast and furious piece of minimal synth.

The only other Svart Klovn releases are the 1986 Queen Bitch 7” and the Kid D. & the Nightshades LP, both featured over at Crispy Nuggets with some additional information about Kid Death and Svart Klovn. Check it out.

Svart Klovn- Knust Knekt 7”
1. Knust Knekt
2. Macho Manifest

*download it here* (RE-RIPPED 3.3.13)

De Press- Product LP

Posted in 1980s, 1982, 1990s, 2000s, de press, new wave, norweigan, polish, post-punk on May 23, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

De Press were a gloom-ridden post punk act formed in Norway during the late seventies. Their music would tread similar sonic territories as contemporaries Joy Division and the Sound, while Andrej Nebb’s vocals walked the line between unintelligible English and fluent Polish. Andrej’s history as a Polish refugee blended their gloomy sound with a series of eastern European influences, a distinguishing feature that made De Press one of the biggest bands in their homeland, even if they didn’t catch fire elsewhere.

The band’s first record Block to Block is a classic, as their sophomore effort, uploaded below. Product was released shortly after the original lineup of the band split. De Press reunited in 1991, however, and continues to release new material to this day, with Andrej Nebb remaining the only original member to date.

Here’s the info and download link for 1982’s Product:

De Press- Product LP
1. The Fatal Day
2. In a Position to Know
3. Passages
4. In a Crowded Room
5. Signals
6. Product
7. Another Man’s Sin
8. Heaven
9. Total Corruption
10. Swienty Pokoj

*download it here*