Archive for the twilight ritual Category

Twilight Ritual- Rituals LP

Posted in 1980s, 1986, 1990s, 2000s, autumn, Belgian, linear movement, minimal, minimal synth, twilight ritual on May 5, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

To complete the trifecta and fulfill an older request, here’s a reissue of Twilight Ritual’s Rituals LP, originally released in 1986. This is the “latest” project of Geert Coppens and Peter Bonne, also known for their work in Autumn and Linear Movement, two equally captivating Belgian wave outfits. The project originally formed in 1982 and has been an on again, off again focus for the pair.

Twilight Ritual seems to be active to this date. Micrart, responsible for the cataloging and reissuing of releases new and old, alludes to two new studio records, one of which is available as of last year and one of which is on the way. In the meanwhile, Geert Coppens keeps himself occupied with two side projects; Das Cabinett (not the same previously featured in these back pages) and Gerardus Le Monk.

Twilight Ritual- Rituals LP
1. Amorphous Materials
2. I Never Called You A Dream
3. Message
4. What Are Rooms For?
5. Strength For Me
6. He Is Ice
7. Means Of Heath
8. Closed Circuit
9. Tears On The Wall

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED*—- See below for official downloads via Micrart and iTunes

Twilight Ritual on myspace dot com

Linear Movement- Pulse Music LP

Posted in 1980s, 1983, autumn, linear movement, minimal, synth, twilight ritual on March 31, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s an offshoot of this month’s post on Autumn. Ever-changing in both style and sound, Peter Bonne broke off from the Autumn project and briefly formed Linear Movement as an outlet for his newest material. These tracks are more song-oriented than the soundtrack-esque and experimental sound of Autumn’s early material, but are equally well-crafted. The record features both male and female vocals and contributions by Peter Koutstaal and Lieve Van Steerteghem.

This is the lone Linear Movement release, for the project spanned but two years before Peter re-joined with Geert Coppens to form Twilight Ritual. It was originally released on cassette in 1983 and re-released on CD through

Without any further ado, here’s the details:

Linear Movement- Pulse Music LP
1. To Another Soul
2. Cytogenetic Movement
3. Five Faces
4. Due To You
5. Don’t Try To Trick Me
6. Way Out Of Living
7. You Won
8. The Linear Way
9. Magical Melody
10. The Other Way Round

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED* Visit Micart to purchase these mp3s properly:
Micrart dot com

Autumn- Experiments With Environments LP

Posted in 1980s, 1982, autumn, Belgian, experimental, minimal, synth, twilight ritual on March 17, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Today’s post features Belgian minimal wave band Autumn’s original 1982 cassette, Experiments With Environments. I’m unable to dig up a ton of information about the band, but the primarily two-piece outfit released countless underground cassette tapes documenting their pioneering and experimental synth work for five years throughout the early 1980s, many of which have only seen the light of day due to recent CD-r releases via collective label Micrart. Just before retiring the name to persue other projects, Autumn would record their own soundtrack to Fritz Lang’s silent classic Metropolis, which was occasionally performed alongside screening’s of the film before an ‘official’ score was made available.

As Autumn changed directions and laid their moniker to rest, members Geert Coppens and Peter Bonne would find some more success as members of Twilight Ritual, while Peter would also work as Linear Movement a short period of time.

Here are the details for the Experiments With Environments release:

Autumn- Experiments With Environments
1. Ocilado Q
2. Memories
3. Twilight World Part 1
4. Towards Tokio Part 1
5. Reach You From Behind My Walls
6. I Still Care
7. Gardens
8. Friday
9. Mystery Screen
10. Twilight World Part 2
11. My New Friend
12. PSI, A Destiny Experience
13. Metal Dream
14. The Posession L
15. 7.49
16. Towards Tokio Part 2
17. Experiments With Environments
18. Pale Mist Meditation
19. Delayed Mind Creation

*DOWNLOAD LINK REMOVED* Mp3s available via iTunes music store and Micart:
Micrart dot com