Archive for the manchester Category

Sanity Plexus- Redux

Posted in 1980s, 1990, 1990s, 1991, manchester, post-punk, Sanity Plexus, Sexus, uk on February 9, 2011 by Frankie Teardrop

It’s been a long eight months, but I’ve since tracked down the remaining Sanity Plexus discography, consisting of a 12” and a full length LP. While the band taps into a little more production value here, there’s still the raw, DIY aesthetic throughout both releases that appeals. Fans of raw post-punk and indie rock with hard-hitting minimal drum programming should find lots to love here. Synth fans will especially dig the LP, which features arpeggiated keyboard lines and string pads to flesh out the sound a bit further than the two previous releases.

Both of these records were released on the same label as the debut 12”, which you can nab here if you missed it. Without any further ado, here’s the info:

Sanity Plexus- Tough Guy Shell 12” (1990)
1. Tough Guy Shell
2. Career Boys
3. Ambassador of Angst
4. The Pleasure Utensils

Sanity Plexus- Fidelity LP (1991)
1. It’s Not What You Think
2. Fatty Takes A Flyer
3. You Never Can Tell
4. Malevolent Angel
5. Big Chill
6. Why I Don’t Dance
7. Ozone-Friendly Boyfriend
8. Slice Of Life
9. Pop
10. Scandal In A Small Town

*download both here* (reuploaded @320kbps on 8.30.16)

Sanity Plexus- Devil’s Deception 12”

Posted in 1980s, 1989, manchester, post-punk, Sanity Plexus, Sexus, uk on June 3, 2010 by Frankie Teardrop

Almost had a heart attack when my freshly mailed copy of this had sibilance issues. Fortunately, it was just a brief turntable malfunction, and I’m able to bring you this stellar debut from England’s Sanity Plexus.

The two-piece band hailed from Manchester, home of some of the best post-punk bands in the world, so you can expect some fruitful gems here. Aggressive drum machines (most running a similar, but effective program), incisive guitar work, yet solid, danceable rhythms. A real treat!

It seems the band earned quite the following during their tenure, which lasted for three LPs. The band grew poppier and less aggressive with each release, which culminated in a name change. Sexus, as the band would then be known, grew in popularity into the early 1990s with a more acid house sound, typical of England at the time. Sexus released two LPs before disbanding.

You can fill in a few more details by visiting the band’s site, which appears to be run by a member. You can also download the title track from the band’s second release, the Tough Guy Shell 12”. Without any further ado, here’s the info for this killer release.

Sanity Plexus- Devil’s Deception 12”
1. Top
2. Masculine Mask
3. Squalor
4. A Boy Can Get Scared
5. Stains
6. Service With a Smile

*download it here* (reuploaded @320kbps)

Inca Babies- Evil Hour

Posted in 1980s, 1987, blues, deathrock, inca babies, manchester, post-punk, uk on June 4, 2008 by Frankie Teardrop

Here’s something a little more explosive and guitar oriented than the usual fare. Today’s post features UK post-punk act Inca Babies, who formed between 1982-83 in the industrialized neighborhoods of Manchester. The band took several cues from the likes of the Birthday Party, the Cramps, and the Gun Club, influences which the Inca Babies proudly wear on their sleeve.

As the UK music scene shifted away from the initial wave of post-punkers into a more synth based dance direction (especially in Manchester with the rise of New Order and the Happy Mondays), the Inca Babies soldiered on for four years total, releasing four records and several 12” singles and EPs. The band split in 1987, and in 2006, a collection of favorites hand picked by the band was released on Cherry Red Records.

Uploaded below is their final LP Evil Hour, released in January of 1987, a few months before the band split. The details:

Inca Babies- Evil Hour
1. Evil Hour
2. Long Uphill Trek
3. Partisans River
4. A Madmans Demise
5. Bad Hombre
6. Artillery Switchback
7. Two Rails To Nowhere
8. Volts
9. Burning Town
10. Young Blood

*download it here*

For more info on Inca Babies, including an official discography and an image gallery, click below. Also linked below is a link to purchase the band’s retrospective, Plutonium via Cherry Red Records.

Inca Babies homepage
Cherry Red

Crispy Ambulance

Posted in 1980s, 2000s, british, crispy ambulance, factory, manchester, post-punk on October 15, 2007 by Frankie Teardrop

A large group of cohorts and I just caught the NYC premier of Anton Corbijn’s Control this weekend, a biopic about the life and times of Ian Curtis. Though today’s post doesn’t feature Joy Division OR New Order, it features one of their contemporaries, fellow Manchester based Factory records outfit Crispy Ambulance, whose singer would fill in for Ian Curtis during one ill-fated night, culminating in an audience riot.

The band, formed in 1977 by Alan Hempsall and Robert Davenport, was unfairly dismissed as Joy Division knockoffs during their short recording tenure. Despite these accusations however, Crispy Ambulance had their own innovative style to add to the budding post-punk movement, and often incorporated a more minimal and dreamy sound to their compositions.

The band would flesh out their lineup and record a handful of singles in 1980 and play shows alongside the likes of prominent bands such as Killing Joke. Upon Factory’s request, the band would sign to record the full length record The Plateau Phase and a few assorted singles. Unfairly written off (along with fellow label mates Section 25, previously featured on these pages), the band would split in 1982, releasing a collection of unreleased tracks soon after.

Despite their demise, the band would reunite in 1999 to record two more records into the new millenium, and are together to this day, playing sporadic gigs in their native Manchester.

I’ve uploaded a handful of tracks…The first, a personal favorite from the 1982 record The Plateau Phase and the second, a lone 1984 single compiled on a resissued version of said album.

download Crispy Ambulance- ‘The Force and the Wisdom’
download Crispy Ambulance- ‘Sexus’

…and here’s the video for ‘The Presence’ from A Factory Video.

For more information on Crispy Ambulance, including a full discography, live mp3 downloads and more, here’s a link to their official site:

Crispy Ambulance dot com